Fisheries Infosite

Fish type - Finfish

There are over 1,000 species of marine finfish in New Zealand, 42 of which are managed under the Quota Management System.

Marine finfish species form an integral part of complex and diverse ecosystems that support biodiversity and ecological production in salt water habitats.

The Fisheries Act 1996 provides for the management of aquatic life in all fisheries waters, which include inland waters, estuaries, and the sea.  Marine finfish species have customary value as taonga, and recreational and commercial value, as well as intrinsic value as part of the broader ecosystem.
Marine finfish species are managed for customary Maori purposes, recreational and commercial fishing, aquaculture, aquatic life transfers, education, research and enhancement.

Iconic species
Snapper and trevally
Blue cod
   Blue cod
Image drawing for Gurnard (GUR)